University of Nebraska Foundation announces new board chair, chair-elect and new trustees

Angie Muhleisen, Jane E. Miller

The University of Nebraska Foundation announced the election of Angie Muhleisen of Lincoln as chair of its board of directors and Jane E. Miller of Omaha as chair-elect. The positions were announced at the foundation’s Annual Meeting of Trustees on Sept. 29.

Muhleisen replaces Don Voelte of Omaha, whose term as board chair has concluded.

Muhleisen is the president and CEO of Union Bank & Trust Co. She is responsible for the company’s growth, financial performance, bankwide succession planning and bank culture. She has been a trustee since 1998 and joined the University of Nebraska Foundation board in 2018. She has a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

“It is an honor to be the chair of the University of Nebraska Foundation,” she said. “As a native Nebraskan, I have witnessed the positive impact the university has had on students, businesses and the state of Nebraska. With our support, the university will continue to lead, innovate and transform lives.”             

Miller retired as the president and chief operating officer at Gallup, where she was responsible for all operational and client service aspects of the organization. Miller received a bachelor’s degree in business education from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. She became a trustee in 2015 and joined the board in 2017.

The University of Nebraska Foundation also welcomed two new board members, Lori Druse of Lincoln and Theodore Harris of Denver. Both were elected to three-year terms.

Lori Druse, Theodore Harris

Druse is a managing director at Deloitte specializing in the insurance industry and has been a certified public accountant since 1994. She is a former chair of the Nebraska Board of Public Accountancy, served as a UNL School of Accountancy Advisory Board member and is a current member of the YMCA of Lincoln Board of Directors. Druse has been a trustee since 2018 and a member of the foundation’s audit committee since 2019. She graduated from the University of Nebraska at Kearney with a bachelor’s degree in business administration, with an emphasis in accounting.

Harris is a managing partner and co-chief investment officer with Schoolcraft Capital. Previously, he served as a senior adviser at The Milestone Group Inc., was a member of the investment management team for the Rockefeller Foundation in New York and worked for the Yale Endowment, where he analyzed current and prospective investment managers and strategies. Harris has been a trustee since 2011, served on the alternative asset subcommittee from 2012 to 2018 and became a member of the investment committee in 2018. He earned a bachelor’s degree in finance from UNL and a master’s degree in business administration from Yale University.

Board members Paul Mendlik of Waterloo, Nebraska, Holly Ostergard of Lincoln and Steve Seline of Omaha were reelected to second three-year terms on the foundation’s board. The board meets three times a year to oversee the business affairs of the foundation. Here’s a link to the entire list of volunteers who serve on the board of directors or on one of its committees.

 “I’m grateful for the volunteer service of these community and business leaders who give of their time and talents to assist the University of Nebraska Foundation in its mission to grow relationships and resources that enable the university to change lives and save lives,” said Brian F. Hastings, president and CEO of the University of Nebraska Foundation. “Each brings unique skills and knowledge to our organization. Their steadfast leadership is building a stronger future for the University of Nebraska and our state through the Only in Nebraska campaign.”

Also elected at the annual meeting were new University of Nebraska Foundation trustees. Trustees provide philanthropic leadership for the University of Nebraska, serve as advocates and volunteers for the foundation and university and elect other trustees and members of the board of directors.

Newly elected trustees are: Susan Brennan of West Hollywood, California; Martha Bruckner of Omaha; Homer and Darla Buell of Bassett, Nebraska; Thatcher and Shannon Davis of San Francisco, California; Daniel Dawes of Davie, Florida; Michael and Suzanne Devaney of Scottsdale, Arizona; Charles P. and Judith C. Downey of Omaha; Todd and Cathy Engle of Omaha; Judith Hall of Lone Tree, Colorado; Timothy and Debra Hart of Georgetown, Texas; Merle and Kay Horst of Bonita Springs, Florida; Christopher and Jane Kelley of Scottsbluff, Nebraska; Patrick Kerrigan of Waterloo, Nebraska; Terry Keslar of Firth, Nebraska; Frank and Yanik Labrador of Coral Gables, Florida; Christine Ngaruiya of Milford, Connecticut; B.J. and Christine Reed of Omaha; Deborah Schroeder of Shelton, Nebraska; Dara Spivack of Omaha; James P. Stewart of Lincoln; Tim and Beth Wilson of Omaha; and Andrew and Lindsey Wong of Omaha.

Here’s a link to a list of all active and honorary trustees.

About the University of Nebraska Foundation

The University of Nebraska Foundation grows relationships and resources that enable the University of Nebraska to change lives and save lives. During the most recent fiscal year, 58,072 donors supported the University of Nebraska, and a record $354.5 million in new funds was committed to aid UNK, UNL, UNO, NCTA and UNMC and its clinical partner, Nebraska Medicine. The foundation raises more than $7 for every $1 spent. Only in Nebraska: A Campaign for Our University’s Future is its current campaign with a goal to raise $3 billion from 150,000 unique benefactors to support the University of Nebraska. More information is at

Share this story:


Looking for more stories?